History of Inglewood Inn – South Australia’s first historic hotel.
The Inglewood Inn was built in 1857 as a resting point for those travelling along North East Rd to Gumeracha – in those days it was a lengthy horse ride, not a quick drive up the road! It is one of Adelaide’s oldest hotels and has been proclaimed Adelaide’s first historic hotel.
After the completion of the hotel, the publican, Firman Deacon, offered his builders five gallons (19 litres) of beer to come up with a name. They decided on Inglewood after a forest in Northern England and by the time the publican arrived the next morning, the name “Inglewood” had been painted on a sign and put above the bar.
From there the small township began to grow and carried on the name of Inglewood, after the hotel. Referred to as a hamlet, this means we are generally smaller than a village and strictly without a church – because of this we’re often referred to as “Evilwood” as many surrounding areas are heavily populated with churches.
It’s current owners, Peter and Polly Howell, have a lifetime of history in the hospitality industry. After purchasing in 2008, plans were set in motion to extend the hotel, as previously the stunning views of the Adelaide Hills and Para River were only visible through the window in the female toilets. This window is now the doorway into our new restaurant, with matching function room below. The stipulation from National Trust for the redevelopment was that it must be modern and new, but in keeping with its heritage and freestanding from the original building.
Along with their daughter Milly, the Howell’s run the hotel as a family business and is their only venue.